Happy Mother’s Day!

More than it meets the eye, this woman depicted that ‘Love is not, always, holding hands side by side; it is looking forward in one direction’. 

‘Ma, who’d have thought we’d be closer to each other because of our devotion to God? During our younger years, I’ve seen how a woman – a spouse and a mother, grow from a diligent worker to a selfless servant. Those times, you’ve held my hand, along with Papa, every time we walk up the stage to pin my ribbons or receive my medals. Consequently, the wails of poverty were quashed by the hope of Divine Providence. Until I’ve reached the age of majority, slowly, I was led to the brighter side of life by knowing, deeply, who gave you to me – God. Again, we marched side by side, and walked up to receive my college diploma and honors.
Here comes the age of maturity. The inevitable cannot overpower the love that we’ve grown. Our conversation over the dinner table involved matters that were, for me, blabbers in the past. It must have been the passing of years, or maybe, the brief moments of soliloquy by walking side by side, but you, a woman of simplicity, has, finally, helped me set my gaze straightforward.

Thank you, Mama. If I’d live this life a hundred times, you’d, still, be the one I’d choose as my mother [if I ever get the chance to choose because, yes, I have high hopes God would, still, give you to me]. Let’s continue working onto the next life.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mama!

(This was, originally, a status update on Facebook. Since it’s a special occasion, I wanted to share this worldwide. Happy Mother’s Day to all moms! ❤️)

💌,
SAM

Author: samofguzman

A writer neither writes every day nor every other day; a writer writes on a day beyond his control.

Leave a Reply

